The British Academy of Film and Television Arts in Wales, BAFTA Cymru, has  revealed the names of some of the nominees, presenters and other special guest attendees for this Sunday’s British Academy Cymru Awards, which is taking place at the St David’s Hall in Cardiff, Wales on 14 October.



Stars of the big and small screen are set to attend the 27th BAFTA Cymru ceremony, which honours excellence in performance and production within film, games and television in Wales, and will be joined by a host of famous faces.

DJ and presenter Huw Stephens returns to host the ceremony for the fourth time, at which the stars of Welsh-made television dramas Born to Kill, Bang, Craith/Hidden and Keeping Faith/Un Bore Mercher will attend.

Those expected to grace the red carpet include, but are not limited to Bond producers Barbara Broccoli OBE and Michael G. Wilson OBE; actress Elen Rhys (Apostle, Ordinary Lies) Aimee-Ffion Edwards (Detectorists, Peaky Blinders, Troy: Fall of a City); presenter Sean Fletcher; actor Jason Hughes (Marcella, Midsummer Murders, Three Girls); new Doctor Who companion Mandip Gill and Sion Alun Davies (Craith/Hidden and Requiem).

Other guests will include actor and singer Shaheen Jafargholi (EastEnders and Casualty), Joe Hurst (Wanderlust, The Casual Vacancy) and Dino Fetscher (Humans, Paranoid, Banana, Cucumber), Saran Morgan (Gwaith/Cartref), actress Elinor Crawley (Vikings, The White Queen) and soprano Elin Manahan Thomas.

Guests will be treated to a live performance from band Who’s Molly, whose lead singer, Karl Morgan is from Swansea.

Acting nominees attending include Ioan Gruffudd, nominated for his role in ITV’s Liar, Jack Rowan (Born to Kill), Mark Lewis Jones (Keeping Faith/Un Bore Mercher), Rhodri Meilir (Craith) Amanda Mealing (Casualty), Annes Elwy (Little Women), Gwyneth Keyworth (Craith) and Eve Myles (Keeping Faith, Un Bore Mercher).

Other nominees across craft and performance categories and guests include, but are not limited to, Amy Wadge, Charlotte Church, Rhod Gilbert, Will Millard, Suzanne Packer, Beti George, Gareth ‘Alfie’ Thomas, Carys Eleri, and Catrin Stewart.

Directors Philip John, Euros Lyn, Gareth Bryn and Bruce Goodison will also attend.

The Special Award recipients for 2018 have been announced as presenter and journalist Mavis Nicholson and costume designer Lindy Hemming.

The ceremony will be streamed live once again the BAFTA Cymru Facebook and YouTube pages and is made possible by the event’s sponsors Iceland and Gorilla Post Production. Those unable to attend and watch arrivals will also be able to watch coverage from the red carpet from 6:00pm, presented by Elin Fflur.

20 programme, craft and performance categories feature in the annual British Academy Cymru Awards, honouring excellence in broadcasting and production within film and television in Wales during the period 1 April 2017 and 31 March 2018.

Hannah Raybould, Director of BAFTA Cymru said. “We are very excited to welcome all of this year’s nominees to the 27th British Academy Cymru Awards on 14 October. The calibre and breadth of the nominees represented is a fantastic representation of the health of the games and television industry in Wales at the moment.

With growing audiences in person and via our live stream, last year’s record 1000+ attendance, the fantastic guests attending to announce awards and the wider industry support this year, we are witnessing the supportive network of professionals working on Welsh and incoming productions. We hope that all those with an interest in roles within the creative media industry are joining us to celebrate talent and, more importantly, meet those working at the top of their craft and production roles during the evening. It is a truly welcoming event and we encourage everyone with an interest to attend.”

Members of the public are invited to join nominees and industry professionals at this year’s awards. Awards tickets are available for the Champagne reception, ceremony and after party at the newly-refurbished Radisson Blu Hotel priced at £98, which include a limited-edition Awards brochure.

Tickets can be purchased from the St David’s Hall Box Office
029 20 878444 /


Post-production and facilities company Gorilla returns as Key Event Sponsor and returning sponsors and partners have been confirmed as AB Acoustics, Aberystwyth University, Audi UK, Bad Wolf, BBC Cymru Wales, Bluestone Brewery, Buzz Magazine, Capital Law, Cardiff Council, Champagne Taittinger, Channel 4, Clarins, Cuebox, Da Mhile Gin, Deloitte, DRESD, Elstree Light and Power, FOR Cardiff, Genero, Glyndŵr University, Hotel Chocolat, Iceland, ITV Wales, Ken Picton Salon, Mad Dog 2020 Casting, Pinewood, Radisson Blu, San Pellegrino/Acqua Panna, S4C, St Davids Hall, Taylor Bloxham, The Social Club, Agency, Sugar Creative.  Trosol, University of South Wales, University of Wales Trinity Saint David, Villa Maria, Waterstone Homes, Welsh Government, Working Word and Yr Egin.