Education professional from Cardiff wins at the Professional Teaching Awards Cymru 2020

Nine of the most inspiring, talented, and dedicated teachers and education staff from across Wales have been revealed as winners of the fourth annual Professional Teaching Awards Cymru.

The pandemic didn’t stop the celebrations at the virtual ceremony with 26 finalists and their schools, family and friends all tuning in to watch. Hosted by comedian and presenter Tudur Owen and entertainment provided by acapella trio Sorela, Education Minister Kirsty Williams revealed the winners.

The awards recognise the brilliant work that our teachers and education staff do for our schools across Wales, and after a difficult year for the education sector, provided some much-needed positivity for those involved.


Victoria Carey, from Mary Immaculate High School in Cardiff, won the award for Teacher of the Year in a Secondary School. Known for her warmth, care and focus on achieving the best for her learners, Victoria impressed the judges with her commitment and enthusiasm for her role. They found her passion and dedication for her subject to be infectious, and her impact on young people’s success to be outstanding.

Victoria said, “I feel incredibly honoured to have won as it not only recognises my efforts as a teacher, but the efforts of all the teachers, advisors, colleagues and so many others who have helped me to develop my practice and thrive in my role. This nomination is as much for them as it is for me, as without them I would not be where I am today. Being able to be part of this celebration is a once in a life-time experience, and one I will cherish forever.”

For the third time, the Education Minister also revealed the winner of the Welsh Government Special Recognition Award. This special award was open to anyone working in education, in whatever capacity. This year, for the first time ever, it was awarded to every single person in education including teachers, school staff and all of the learners.


Teacher of the Year in a Primary school – new for 2020

Stacey Harris – Coed Eva Primary School, Cwmbran

Outstanding New Teacher

Hannah Lewis – Troedyrhiw Primary School, Merthyr Tydfil



Inspirational Use of the Welsh Language

Dyfed Williams – Ysgol Eirias, Colwyn Bay

Supporting Teachers and Learners

Louise Flynn – Pen Y Dre High School, Merthyr Tydfil


Youth Work in Schools

Gavin Witte – Youth Service Ceredigion

Teacher of the Year in a Secondary school – new for 2020

Victoria Carey – Mary Immaculate High School, Cardiff


School Business Manager/Bursar

Catrin Rhys Williams – Ysgol Uwchradd Glan Clwyd, St Asaph


Headteacher of the Year

David Jenkins – Ysgol Ty Coch, Pontypridd


Pupil (or Pupils’) Award for Best Teacher – new for 2020

David Church – Mountain Ash Comprehensive School, Mountain Ash


The Education Minister, Kirsty Williams, said: “I am so pleased that we have had the opportunity to celebrate our incredible education professionals for another year, and would like to say a huge congratulations to this year’s Professional Teaching Awards Cymru winners.

“After the ceremony was postponed back in May due to the pandemic, we have worked so hard to ensure the finalists get the celebration and recognition that they deserve. Both our finalists and our winners should all be extremely proud of making it to the final and know that the entire nation recognises their hard work and commitment to education.

“With the introduction of the new Pupil Award for Best Teacher category this year, it has been so incredibly heart-warming to hear from pupils first-hand how their teachers have and continue to impact their lives.

“It was an absolute honour to award the Welsh Government Special Recognition Award to every single person in education. After this year, it was impossible to single out one individual for this award and everyone deserves recognition for their resilience and hard work this year during the pandemic. To every teacher, cleaner, cook, caretaker, school business manager, teaching assistant, headteacher, education practitioner and every young person, you are all absolutely brilliant and we cannot thank you enough.”

All winners were presented with bespoke, hand-crafted Griffiths Jones trophies.

Join the conversation with #TeachingAwardsCymru or follow @WG_Education.