Cardiff Philharmonic Orchestra Halloween Spectacular!


Illustration, Gareth Griffiths

Halloween Spectacular!

Friday 28 October 2022, 7.30pm


Cardiff Philharmonic Orchestra opens its new season with a programme of music suitable for the creepiest time of the year!

We begin in a wild storm on Mussorgsky’s Night on a Bare Mountain and visit The Isle of the Dead with Rachmaninov’s darkly romantic and brooding score inspired by the famous painting of the same name by Arnold Böcklin.

Two cinema classics with music by the great John Williams take us to the world of Harry Potter, as well as The Witches of Eastwick, the latter starring Jack Nicholson along with Cher, Michelle Pffeifer and Susan Sarandon.

The programme also includes the much loved Dance Macabre (the theme to TV’s Jonathan Creek) and ends with a sonic spectacular, bidding good against evil, in Stravinsky’s suite from his ballet The Firebird.


Night on a Bare Mountain

John Williams
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban ‘Aunt Marge’s Waltz’ & ‘Something Wicked this way Comes’

The Isle of the Dead

Danse Macabre

John Williams
The Witches of Eastwick: Devil’s Dance

The Firebird (1919 Suite)