Engegård Quartet at St David’s Hall



ONE of Norway’s most sought after ensembles the Engegård Quartet share their stunning Scandinavian sound at St David’s Hall on Tuesday 6 March.

This ‘Pay What You Will’ Lunchtime Concert at 1pm features a bold and fresh interpretations of masterpieces from Haydn and Grieg all performed in the Quartet’s inimitable style.

Since forming under the midnight sun in Lofoten in 2006, the Engegård Quartet have garnered international acclaim, and inspired some innovative partnerships and programming.

With a busy concert schedule throughout Scandinavia and further afield, they have performed in some of Europe’s finest venues including the Mozarteum in Salzburg, Prague’s Rudolfinum and now the National Concert Hall of Wales.

The Engegård Quartet is supported by the Norwegian Arts Council.

“Breathtaking” The Strad

“What Grieg lovers have been waiting for” Music Web International



Joseph Haydn  String Quartet in D Minor op. 76, No. 2 (“Fifths”)

  1. Allegro
  2. 2. Andante o più Tosto Allegretto
  3. Menuetto.  Allegro ma non Troppo
  4. Vivace Assai
Edvard Grieg  String Quartet in G minor op. 27

  1. Uno Poco Andante- Allegro Molto ed Agitato
  2. Romanze. Andantino
  3. Intermezzo.  Allegro molto marcato – Più vivo e scherzando
  4. Finale. Lento – Presto al saltarello



The ‘Pay What You Will’ concert tickets will be available for collection from the Box Office on the day.

 All performances start at 1pm and last for approximately one hour.


 For more information on Lunchtime Concerts at St David’s Hall, please visit: