From Russia…With Love, Cardiff Philharmonic Orchestra



St David’s Hall

Friday 20 October, 7.30pm

CARDIFF PHILHARMONIC ORCHESTRA’S 2017/18 season starts in style with the fiery passion of From Russia…With Love on Friday 20 October – and tickets are on sale now!

Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 2 forms a fascinating centre-piece to this programme, and is familiar to film fans as the romantic music featured in Brief Encounter. Accompanying the orchestra is 2014 BBC Young Musician of the Year, Martin James Bartlett for what will be a compelling performance of this classic.

Likewise, there’s the sumptuous Adagio from Khachaturian’s Spartacus, which memorably introduced the popular TV series The Onedin Line. Plus, the concert closes with Stravinsky’s colourful ballet Petrushka, which conjures vivid images of puppets springing to life!

This captivating concert is part of the city-wide R17 Festival, which marks the centenary of the Russian Revolution and captures the social and cultural explosion of the era.

“A natural and powerful musician, he lives and breathes music”


Violinist Nicola Benedetti on Martin James Bartlett

Khachaturian Adagio (from Spartacus)
Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor
Stravinsky Petrushka

Cardiff Philharmonic Orchestra
Michael Bell Conductor
Martin James Bartlett Piano

Standard Price £6.50 | £9.50 | £11.50 | £17.50 | £23.50
Children under 16 £6.50 any area
16 – 22 year olds £8.50
Friends of St David’s Hall | Students | Over 60s | Claimants £2 off top two prices
Wheelchair user plus one companion £6.50 each ticket (available on single tickets only, not on Series Offer)
Groups of 10 or more £1 off each ticket

Plus an optional £1 postage fee.

PLEASE NOTE: Subscription packages for all four concerts in the 2017/18 season will be available from Thursday 8 June.


To book your seats, please visit

or call the Box Office on 029 2087 8444.