Aberfan: The Green Hollow leads with seven nominations 

Television drama Sherlock and feature film The Lighthouse each receive five nominations

Aberfan disaster anniversary dominates factual categories with

The Aberfan Young Wives Club and Aberfan – The Fight for Justice each receiving four nomination

Cardiff, 1 September 2017: The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) in Wales, BAFTA Cymru, has announced today the nominations for the British Academy Cymru Awards, honouring excellence in broadcasting and production within film, games and television in Wales. The announcement was made live for the first time on Facebook by Elin Fflur.

The 26th ceremony will take place on 8 October 2017 at St David’s Hall, Cardiff and will be presented by Huw Stephens for a third year. The ceremony will feature special guest performances and celebrity award presenters representing the best of the UK’s creative and media industries.

This year a record 55 productions gain recognition with nominations across all production, performance, craft and game categories.

Aberfan: The Green Hollow leads with seven nominations across Television Drama, Director: Fiction (Pip Broughton), Actress (Eiry Thomas) and Actor (Michael Sheen, who won the award in 2013). The drama is also nominated for Writer (Owen Sheers), Photography and Lighting (Steve Lawes) and the Breakthrough Award for newcomer Jenna Robbins.

Returning series 35 Diwrnod and Parch complete the Television Drama category.

Thriller The Lighthouse receives five nominations, for Actor (2016 winner Mark Lewis Jones), Director (Chris Crow), Editing (John Gillanders), Photography and Lighting (Alex Metcalfe) and Special and Visual Effects, Titles and Graphic Identity.

Sherlock also receives five nominations this year:  Production Design (for previous winner Arwel Wyn Jones), Editing (Will Oswald), Special and Visual Effects, Titles and Graphic Identity and two nominations for Make Up (Claire Pritchard Jones)*.

The new, broader eligibility criteria for this year’s awards, which allow recognition for Welsh talent working on UK network productions, sees Kimberley Nixon receive a nomination for Actress for her role in Ordinary Lies. Euros Lyn and Catrin Meredydd also receive nominations for Director and Production Design respectively for their work on Damilola, Our Loved Boy.

In the factual categories, the 50th anniversary of the Aberfan disaster dominates with The Aberfan Young Wives Club receiving nominations for Director: Factual (Marc Evans), Editing  (Joe Williams), Original Music (James Dean Bradfield) and Photography Factual (Baz Irvine). Aberfan – The Fight for Justice receives four nominations, for Single Documentary, Director: Factual (Iwan England), Photography Factual (Stephen Hart) and Presenter (Huw Edwards).

The remaining Actor nominations go to Jack Parry Jones (Moon Dogs) and Dyfan Dwyfor (Y Llyfrgell) and Actress to Carys Eleri (Parch) and Mali Jones (35 Diwrnod).

Nominations in the Feature/Television Film category are Ellen, A Midsummer Night’s Dream and Albi a Noa yn Achub yr Iwnifyrs.

The nominations in the Game category, which returns to the main ceremony this year, are The Bunker (Wales Interactive/Green Man Gaming), Coffin Dodgers (Wales Interactive) and Creature Battle Lab (Dojo Arcade).

Recipients of the Siân Phillips Award, sponsored by Pinewood Studios Group, and the BAFTA Special Award for Outstanding Contribution to Film and Television, sponsored by Sony Technology, will be announced at a celebratory Nominees Party on 28 September. Both Awards will be presented on 8 October at the ceremony.

The ceremony will be live streamed once again this year, with a special event being held by New York Welsh at the Sunken Hundred Welsh bar in Brooklyn attended by Matthew Rhys and others for those in New York to celebrate alongside nominees and winners. For the first time this year, BAFTA will be live-streaming from the red carpet to Facebook with the public able to hear from guests as they arrive.

Post-production and facilities company Gorilla returns as Key Event Sponsor and returning sponsors and partners have been confirmed as Mad Dog Casting, Buzz Magazine, Cuebox, Deloitte, Ethos, Hotel Chocolat, Champagne Taittinger, Working Word, ELP, Ken Picton, Princes Gate, Villa Maria, AB Acoustics, Capital Law, Genero, Trosol, S4C, Aberystwyth University, Cardiff and Vale College, Cardiff Council, BBC Cymru Wales, University of South Wales, Audi, Sugar Creative, Pinewood Studios Group and University of Wales Trinity Saint David.

New sponsors for 2017 are Cardiff BID, Channel 4, Clarins, Curzon, DRESD, Iceland, Lexon Printing Group, Media Access Solutions and Tiny Rebel.

Tickets to attend the Champagne Taittinger reception, Awards and After Party are priced £95 each and available to the public and industry professionals from the St David’s Hall Box Office on 029 20 878500 /

BAFTA Cymru members are able to purchase tickets at a reduced rate of £65 each and those wishing to join BAFTA Cymru should visit our website for further information.

For further information please visit