Nominations announced for 25th British Academy Cymru Awards


Y Gwyll/Hinterland leads with four nominations

Television drama 35 Diwrnod and Feature Film Yr Ymadawiad each receive three nominations

Factual programmes; Tim Rhys Evans – All in the Mind, Swansea Sparkle: A Transgendered Story and Iolo’s Brecon Beacons each receive 3 nominations 

Sherlock receives highest number of craft category nominations

academy cymru awards


The 25th ceremony, which will celebrate Welsh talent across film and television production, craft and performance roles, will take place on 2 October 2016 at St David’s Hall, Cardiff. The ceremony will feature special guest performances and celebrity award presenters representing the best of the UK’s creative and media industries.


Y Gwyll/Hinterland receives nominations once again for Television Drama, Director: Fiction (Gareth Bryn), Actress (Mali Harries) and Actor (Richard Harrington, who won the award last year). The new political drama Byw Celwydd and returning series 35 Diwrnod complete the Television Drama category.


The new, broader eligibility criteria for this year’s awards, which allow recognition for Welsh talent working on UK network productions, sees Aneurin Bernard receive a nomination for Actor for his role as Boris Drubetskoy in War and Peace, Phil John a Director: Fiction nomination for Downton Abbey and Catrin Meredydd a nomination for Production Design on Jekyll and Hyde. Sherlock receives three nominations:  Production Design (for previous winner Arwel Wyn Jones), Sound, Special and Visual Effects; and Titles and Graphic Identity.


Welsh feature film Yr Ymadawiad (The Passing) receives three nominations: Mark Lewis Jones for Actor, Tim Dickel for Production Design and Ed Talfan for Writer. Craig Roberts is nominated for his debut for feature film, Just Jim, in the Writer category, alongside Siwan Jones and Wil Roberts for 35 Diwrnod.


In the factual categories, Tim Rhys Evans – All in the Mind receives three nominations, for Single Documentary, Editing (Madoc Roberts), and Photography Factual (Mei Williams). The Brecon Beacons with Iolo Williams is nominated for Factual Series, Director Factual (John Gwyn) and Presenter (Iolo Williams). Swansea Sparkle: A Transgender Story is nominated for Single Documentary, Editing (Geraint Huw Reynolds) and Director: Factual (Molly-Anna Woods).


Recipients of the Siân Phillips Award and the BAFTA Special Award for Outstanding Contribution to Film and Television will be announced at a celebratory Nominees Party on 22 September, and these awards will be presented on 2 October at the ceremony. The Special Achievement Award in Feature/Television Film Award will be announced at the ceremony.

Post-production and facilities company Gorilla returns as Key Event Sponsor and new and returning sponsors and partners have been confirmed as Mad Dog Casting, Buzz Magazine, Cuebox, Deloitte, Ethos, Hotel Chocolat, St David’s Hotel and Spa, Champagne Taittinger, Working Word, ELP, Ken Picton, Princes Gate, Villa Maria, AB Acoustics, Capital Law, Denmaur, Genero, Holiday Inn Express, Trosol, Cardiff Wales Airport, Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama, S4C, Aberystwyth University, BBC Cymru Wales, University of South Wales, HMV, Pinewood Studios Group, Cardiff and Vale College, Audi, Sugar Creative and University of Wales Trinity Saint David.


Tickets are priced £90 each and available to the public and industry professionals from the St David’s Hall Box Office on 029 20 878500 /

For further information please visit