Nominations Announced for the British Academy Cymru Awards in 2018



On the 6th September the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) in Wales, BAFTA Cymru, announced the nominations for the British Academy Cymru Awards, honouring excellence in broadcasting and production within film, games and television in Wales.


The announcement was made live for the second year running on Facebook by Elin Fflur.


The 27th ceremony will take place on 14 October 2018 at St David’s Hall, Cardiff and will be presented by Huw Stephens for a fourth year. The ceremony will feature special guest performances and celebrity award presenters representing the best of the UK’s creative and media industries.


This year Awards will be presented across 20 production, performance, craft and game categories.



TV Series Born to Kill and Keeping Faith/Un Bore Mercher lead the nominations with six each.


Born to Kill receives nominations for Actor Jack Rowan as Sam, who was also nominated at this year’s British Academy Television Awards; Director: Fiction for Bruce Goodison, Editing for multiple Cymru Award-winner John Richards, Original Music for Samuel Sim, Photography and Lighting for Sam Care and Television Drama.


Keeping Faith/Un Bore Mercher receives nominations for Actor Mark Lewis Jones, as Steve Baldini; Actress Eve Myles, as Faith Howells; Costume Design for Sarah-Jane Perez; Original Music for Amy Wadge and Laurence Love Greed; Photography and Lighting for Steve Lawes and Matthew Hall for Writer.


The other nominees in the Actor category are 2008 Sian Phillips Award recipient Ioan Gruffudd for his role as Andrew Earlham in Liar and Rhodri Meilir for his role as Dylan Harris in Craith. In the Actress category Amanda Mealing receives a second nomination for her role as Connie Beauchamp in Casualty alongside first-time nominees Annes Elwy as Beth March in Little Women and Gwyneth Keyworth as Megan in Craith.


In the Presenter category previous winner Rhod Gilbert and previous nominee Beti George receive nominations alongside first-time nominees Charlotte Church and Gareth ‘Alfie’ Thomas.


Previous Cymru Award winners Jeff Murphy and Roger Williams are nominated for Hinterland and Bang respectively for the Writer award and the Director: Fiction category nominees are Bruce Goodison for Born to Kill, Euros Lyn for Kiri, Gareth Bryn for Craith and Philip John for Bang.


Nominated in the Single Documentary category are Charlotte Church – Inside my Brain; Hidden Cardiff with Will Millard; Rhod Gilbert: Stand up to Shyness and Richard and Jaco: Life with Autism.


In the Game category, Wales Interactive’s two titles Don’t Look Twice, made with Red and Black Films and Late Shift, made with CTRL Movie are nominated alongside Thud Media/Boom Cymru’s Byd Cyw.


Recipients of the Siân Phillips Award, sponsored by Pinewood Studios Group, and the BAFTA Special Award for Outstanding Contribution to Television will be announced at a celebratory Nominees Party early in October. Both Awards will be presented on 14 October at the ceremony.


The ceremony will be live streamed from St David’s Hall once again this year, with special viewing events being held by New York Welsh at The Liberty in Manhattan, as well as at new partner venues, Galeri Caernarfon and Yr Egin, Carmarthen. The Live Stream is sponsored by Iceland.


Once again this year, BAFTA will be live-streaming interviews with guests and nominees from the red carpet to Facebook.


Post-production and facilities company Gorilla returns as Key Event Sponsor and returning sponsors and partners have been confirmed as AB Acoustics, Aberystwyth University, Audi UK, BBC Cymru Wales, Bluestone Brewery, Buzz Magazine, Capital Law, Cardiff Council, Champagne Taittinger, Channel 4, Clarins, Cuebox, Da Mhile Gin, Deloitte, DRESD, Elstree Light and Power, FOR Cardiff, Genero, Glyndŵr University, Hotel Chocolat, Iceland, ITV Wales, Ken Picton Salon, Mad Dog 2020 Casting, Pinewood, Radisson Blu, San Pellegrino/Acqua Panna, S4C, St Davids Hall, Taylor Bloxham, The Social Club, Agency, Trosol, University of South Wales, Villa Maria, Waterstone Homes, Welsh Government and Working Word.


Tickets to attend the Champagne Taittinger reception, Awards and After Party are priced at £98 each and available to the public and industry professionals from the St David’s Hall Box Office on 029 20 878500 /


BAFTA Cymru members are able to purchase tickets at a reduced rate of £68 each and those wishing to join BAFTA Cymru should visit for further information.