The Sunday Times Watercolour Competition 2017 Shortlisted Artists Announced


Rewarding excellence and originality in contemporary watercolour painting

18 – 23 September, Mall Galleries, London

Now in its 30th year, The Sunday Times Watercolour Competition is the largest and most prestigious prize for contemporary watercolour painting in the UK. Whether it be through abstract or figurative, contemporary or traditional, the competition aims to celebrate and redefine the beauty and diversity of watercolour and water-based media.

Eighty-seven works have been selected from a total of 1057 submissions by a panel of leading figures from the art world.  The 2017 judging panel includes Sarah Long, Director of Long and Ryle Gallery; Kathryn Maple, artist and 2016 First Prize Winner; Louis Wise, critic and writer for The Sunday Times and Andrew Wilton, Visiting Research Fellow at Tate Britain.  The Winners will be announced in the Culture section of the Sunday Times on Sunday 27th August.

The seventy-eight shortlisted artists are as follows:


Alex Maczkowski Alison Boult Anastasia Shimshilashvili
Anne McAulay Edmond Annie Williams Camilla Dowse
Caroline Kent Catherine Ducker Chris Baker
Christopher Green Claire Sparkes Daphne Gradidge
David A Parfitt RI David Brayne David Greenwood
David Shuttleton Debbie Ayles Delia Cardnell
Dennis Roxby Bott Doug Patterson Elizabeth McCarten
Emma Haworth Esme Dollow Fay Brown
Frank Kiely Gary Groucutt Geoff Butterworth
Gertie Young Greg Becker Hannah Turner-Duffin
Hilary Rosen Howard Flanagan Ian Sidaway
Ingrid Greenfield Irene Lafferty Janet Kenyon
Janis Fry John Hunt Josh Crowe
Judith Logan Karen Bowers Kate Evans
Leo Davey Lillias August Louise de la Hey
Mark Elsmore Mark Fielding Martin Leman
Martin Spanyol Max Boyla Michael Williams
Michelle Cioccoloni Patrick Shart Paul Gadenne
Peter Quinn Rachael Grimm Rachel Ross
Rebecca Harper Richard Fowler Rika Newcombe
Robbie Wraith Robert McKenzie Robert Offord
Robin Storey Roger Allen Sally Lawson
Sarah Z Wimperis Sophie Charalambous Stephanie Tuckwell
Stephen Earl Rogers Suman Kaur Sylvia Alice Robertson
Teresa Lawler Tom Caley Varsha Bhatia
Victoria Dale Vincent Spain Ziling Wang



The shortlisted works will be shown at Mall Galleries, London from 18 – 23 September 2017 before touring to a number of venues across the UK.